2014-15 Ratterman Button

The Fast Start Scholarship application is now closed.

Download a PDF of the Fast Start Scholarships flyer.


AISC David B. Ratterman Fast Start Scholarships......................................... awards totaling $40,000


Applicants must be:

    • the child of an AISC Full member company employee OR share a permanent residence with an AISC Full member company employee. Employees must work for a facility that produces, distributes or fabricates structural steel for use in buildings and bridges and whose tonnage is used in the calculation of the members required contributions to the AISC Education Foundation.
    • a Freshman or Sophomore level student during the 2014-15 academic year.
    • attending a 2-year or 4-year college full-time.

2013-2014 Academic Year Winners

Thank you to all of the students who applied for the 2013-2014 Fast Start Scholarships. A special congratulations to the winners of the 2013-2014 awards!

Winners Attending 2-Year Schools 

 Name   School  AISC Member Company Employee       AISC Member Company Award

 Charnette Armstrong

 Scott Community College  Casey Robinson, Jr.  SSAB $2,000

 Donnica Fagan*

 Front Range Community College  Benjamin D'Arcey  SteelStar Corporation $2,000

 Nicholas Langdale

 Blinn College  James Langdale  Central Texas Iron Works     $2,000

 Marlee Sherwood

 Pima Community College  Darren Sherwood  S&H Steel $2,000

 Nicholas Wagoner

 Universal Technical Institute  Brad Wagoner  Cives Steel $2,000

 *No photo available.

Winners Attending 4-Year Schools

Name School AISC Member Company Employee AISC Member Company Award

 Charissa Alvarez

 Mount Saint Mary's College  Luis Enrique Alvarez  Anvil Steel Corporation $5,000

 Maria de Leon

 University of Oklahoma  Marco de Leon  W&W AFCO Steel Company $5,000

 Ian English

 Marchall University  Richard English  Huntington Steel and Supply Company $5,000

 Olivia Postich

 University of Cincinnati  Steven Postich  D.S. Brown $5,000

 Josiah Schaffer

 University of Rhode Island  James Schaffer  American Welding, Inc. $5,000

 Zayla Tolland

 Albright College  Richard Tolland  Apex Fabrications $5,000


2013-14 Ratterman Winners

The 2013-2014 judging panel included:

David Harwell, AISC Education Foundation Chair
Rex Lewis, AISC Board of Directors Member
Terry Peshia, AISC Education Foundation Vice Chair
David Ratterman, AISC General Counsel